Wholeschool Portal | Home 22 July 2018


To help pupils:

·     to develop an interest in the past;

·     to understand the values of our society and to learn respect and tolerance for others;

·     to understand how past and present differs and how their values and attitudes may differ;

·     to encourage pupils to appreciate how their past may influence the present;

·     to understand the nature of evidence;

·     to communicate clearly, employing a wide range of media;

·     to promote independent learning;

·     to develop skills beneficial to the workplace.

Junior School


As part of the programme of study, there are anumber of units taught within the junior school. The core units are taught in sequence in the three years of the Key Stage:

            What is history?          

            The Normans and the Medieval World

            Change1500 - 1700

            WorldWar I and World War II, with emphasis on the Holocaust

            Causes and consequences of Partition in Ireland

We will endeavour to allow each of the year groups    to participate in a field trip:

            Year 8                          Carrickfergus Castle

            Year 9                          Omagh Folk Park

            Year10                         Somme Heritage Centre


Senior School - Key Stage 4

In the Senior School the CCEA, GCSE course is followed by all pupils offering a two-tier examination entry:

(1) Study in Depth – USA, c1918-c1941

(2) Northern Ireland and its Neighbours 1965-1985

(3) Outline study - Superpower Relationsc1945-1985

(4) Controlled Assessment -The Civil Rights Movement in America1960’s – 1990’s


A  wide range of teaching strategies are adopted.  They include:

·     whole class teaching

·     individual activities

·     group activities

·     TV and Information Communication Technology

·     written exercises of all types

·     role plays

·     flexible learning


Assessment is as laid down for the new Curriculum by the Department of Education.  These include:

1.    Spelling tests

2.    End of Unit tests

3.    Assessment throughout the term

4.    End of term school examinations

5.    GCSE examinations at the end of Year 12